Uzès: walking on the streets
For those who do not yet know Uzès,
(but also for those who know this charming city!)
A brief history...
It is around the source of Eure that we find the first traces of human work in Uzès. At the beginning of our era, the Romans capture abundant water. It is transported to Nîmes by a 50 km aqueduct, of which the Pont du Gard is the most remarkable part. In 1229, the Languedoc, of which Uzès is part, is attached to the crown of France. In 1632, the Duke of Uzès is 1st Duke of France. The Duchy located in the heart of the city still belongs to the ducal family that has been living there for more than 1000 years. Uzès and its surroundings count many mills which, since the 15th century, served to the factories sheets of wool, leathers and silk. But the silkworm disease causes the decline of sericulture which occupied nearly 2000 people until the end of the nineteenth century in Uzès. It was then that two new activities were developed: the production of utilitarian and artistic ceramics and licorice. These activities still exist: the flagship of uzetian confectionery, Zan became Haribo - and the pottery of the Pichon family, present in Uzès since 1802, perpetuate tradition and know-how and contribute to making Uzès a destination of international renown. In the twentieth century, Uzès takes a new breath, initiated by André Malraux, then minister of culture, with the classification of its downtown in "sector saved" on January 5, 1965. Classified "City of art and history" Since November 2008, Uzès enjoys an international reputation and one moves to survey its streets and admire its heritage.